Fluid Power Journal

IFPS Fluid Power System Designer

ifps-logo-thumbFluid Power System Designer is an expanded credential focusing on advanced, system-level hydraulic, pneumatic, and electronic controls expertise along with verifiable industry experience and is open to all qualifying individuals. 

Requirements for the IFPS Systems Designer certification:

1. IFPS Specialist certification*
(effective January 1, 2018, all three Specialist certifications will be required)

  • Hydraulic Specialist certification, AND/OR
  • Pneumatic Specialist certification, AND/OR
  • Electronic Controls certification

2. Connector & Conductor written test

3. Five (5) signed professional references

4. Verifiable fluid power design experience

5. Agreement to abide by the IFPS Code of Ethics

6. Six (6) years minimum system design OR any of the following:

  • Hold an Associate Fluid Power Degree + Four (4) years system design experience
  • Hold a BS Degree (Engineering or Engineering Technology) + Four (4) years system design experience
  • Hold a CFPAI (Certified Fluid Power Accredited Instructor) certification + Four (4) years system design training experience

7. Completion of IFPS System Designer Application, which is then put before the IFPS Board of Directors or Certification Review Committee for approval.

* If Specialist certification was obtained before HS and PS became separate entities (1998), the current Specialist certification will fulfill the HS requirement only; the PS or the ECS test must be taken and passed as well before applying for System Designer certification.

Visit www.ifps.org or call 80-308-6005 for an application.

Share this information.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *